h1

Tuesday Again!!!!!

August 4, 2009

… Tuesday Again …

It seems that “Riding Tuesdays” are going to be the impetus for a major growth curve in the state of my mothering this summer! Yet another Tuesday filled with ponies and challenges.

At last minute, Johannes was asked to meet the riding crew at THEIR farm 3/4 of a mile away. That meant getting him, on Binta, past highway, ditches, trucks, and numerous other things that make a mother cringe. I took the leap and found a route that nearly seemed safe, all in sight of my tailing vehicle… at least until Binta decided she wasn’t crossing a ditch! I got out of the car to help, and in moments Binta decided the ditch didn’t look so bad after all. One small detail… I was under her, in it! Thank heavens she’s a little pony and a patient girl, and I’m a patient mother!

Here’s the experience, from a mother’s vantage point in the car…

Off They Go...

Off They Go...

Passing the First Neighbor's

Passing the First Neighbor's

Past the Farmstand (and farmstand dogs)

Past the Farmstand (and farmstand dogs)

Survived the Ditch and Up the Hill

Survived the Ditch and Up the Hill

Approaching Their Destination

Approaching Their Destination

Round the Last Turn

Round the Last Turn

Arrived!

Arrived!

Worth the Trip, Friends Ready and Waiting

Worth the Trip, Friends Ready and Waiting

And They're Off!

And They're Off!

Well, while on this jaunt the leader’s horse bucked her off. I received a call at sundown… “I am anxious to get this misbehaving horse out of the woods before dark, can Johannes come through the woods alone back to the house now that we’re on your land?”  Hesitatingly saying yes, I took off running to meet up with him. He, of course, rode it beautifully, and made it most of the way before I found him.

What can I say… I’m learning how to breathe …

Motherhood…

Leave a Reply

